March Babe Musings (A birthday girl with bohemian sentiments)

A day meant to be celebrated went by as this month holds a personal milestone, marking the addition of one more year to my ongoing life saga. It’s a special day I’ve always looked forward to so the sun, the moon, and the stars could take turns in crystallizing my yesterdays, todays, and tomorrows.
It’s a day to honour the lady who’s reaching a certain age – fretfully counting the unreturning years. The lady who has somehow learned to surface in a pool of her own perplexities, and who has felt better and better for being comfortable in her own skin.

woman waiting

My life has been lived only by me. My journeys solely taken by nobody but me. Which means my convictions could only be my own. I may not be without faults and I am far short of perfect – yet I believe I’ve got every right to form and hold up to whatever hard-won tenets and wisdom I might have earned or culled. I’m sticking by my beliefs, notwithstanding the fact they most probably line the outskirts of other people’s orthodox thinking. I’ve lived it, and I’m keeping it, simply because I got it.

It’s true: I still have nothing much to show except for my current jagged disposition and my weary soul. No material riches to display, or pages full of thundering philosophies to uncover. When your life gets salted by events and deeds you could only wish to do over, you begin to seriously question how you’ve lived your life. But despite the unfavorables supplied to me by nature and by my circumstances, I’d always find this need to strain to be better – with hopes that I may come back again in full force. No matter what foolish mistakes I’m prone of committing each day, there is really no one else I’d rather be.

This blog will remain to house my stories, contemplations and sensibilities. How I wish for my writing to evolve. Even if I have to take risks, attempt at experimenting with whatever style I fancy, and inevitably fall flat on my face. I can take that. When it comes to my passions in my life, relentless is the word that swells inside. Besides, we’re not sure whether time would run out sooner than expected. The completion of my bucket list – which includes a few magical places in Europe, and being able to hold a baby tenderly in my arms; courtesy of my (hopefully) soon-to-be-married son – is about to be done. It’ll be ever-so-sweet I suppose when I’ve come to share it here.

Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to getting a pretty swell haircut, a complete relaxing facial, and a new pair of lovely shoes one of these days.

10 thoughts on “March Babe Musings (A birthday girl with bohemian sentiments)

  1. Gorg-jus! All too aware of the sentiment RE: ‘lack’ of stuff and/or externals, there was a undulating grace in the treasures you found within you. Your writing is so very well done. Happy Birthday. So glad I get to be on the Planet the same time you are. Here’s to your next year! Dan

    • My dear Paul, I honestly didn’t expect you’d turn up here even when I just finished going over to your blog this morning. Believe me, when I go to a blogger’s site, I don’t expect reciprocity – uh, perhaps not immediately :-). Kidding aside, having you here is truly a wonderful surprise. Thank you for greeting me and for your good thoughts about my writing. Best wishes to you.

  2. Happy Birthday!
    “When your life gets salted by events and deeds you could only wish to do over…”
    I would argue, that it is because your life has been salted by deeds and events, that weren’t always of your immediate preference, that you have become the gorgeous and fecund ( sorry, reading lots of period pieces, lately.) woman that is apparent in your prose.

    • It’s a treat to look at things through the lenses you just mentioned. I guess the recent blow I received did knock me down so hard I now have to give myself more time appreciating the good things left and still available in my life.

      I love a variety of words including the word “fecund”. Do you know I just bought myself my very first period-piece classic this week? (A couple from the Bronte sisters) Yes, my reading preferences in my younger years were purely dominated by US entertainment and women’s magazines :-). How I wish I had started much much earlier with the classics.

      Thank you for the birthday greeting. I hope you and your children are doing well.

  3. I liked your musings and knowing around what time your bday is 🙂

    I may be in the minority but I feel that there is nothing more for you to become. You are what you are and that wont change. What will change is how deep of an experience you have of yourself. Unfortunately given thatLife is a bit ambivalent about our wants and desires we are often presented with a plethora os happenings and experiences that provide us that opportunity if we are willing to take it. For me it has been tough to willing accept not just mentally the near constant strife and change I will be exposed to every second of my life until it ends.
    In your case I feel you are a pretty strong person, and a talented writer. The end result of that is that the rest of us can benefit from your vision sight and experience.

    You know a jagged disposition wearied soul, well for me, are sign that someone is living life that one is asserting one’s sense of self on the world. That a good thing well to me at least. Either way I am being too verbose, and it’s late.

    take care
    dave

    • My friend being too verbose, you say? I beg to demur. It’s my favorite MrMary at his best in sharing the golden strands of his stances and insights.
      By all means would I be willing to impart my visions, sights and experiences to whoever is willing to read this blog. That’s another beauty we get from blogging: that we may exhale our intimate woes, hoping others see themselves in us, as we see ourselves in others. And yes, I’d still want to assert my sense of self to the world – as you wonderfully put it – in spite of the gradual shifts and upheavals that continually challenge my struggle to stay whole.

      I believe you’re made of harder stuff yourself and you are undoubtedly a highly astute and exceptional writer. It’s a pleasure to have been accorded your glimmering comment, Dave.

      Now that you know my birthmonth, I will compel you to tell me yours. 🙂

      Take care as well,
      Marj

  4. Happy Birthday Marj! or Belated Happy Birthday Marj! as the case may be… I’ve always thought that the events both good and bad shape us as people and if your truly happy with the person you are now, You might be the same person had your life experiences been different. Personally, my life only seems to work while I’m in minimalist mode, so I hear you on not acquiring large qualities of stuff. In end someone else will have to sort through your treasures and decide for themselves what the values are. I think the real measure of the person is how they effect the people whose lives they touch. To that end it’s the quality of person and their ability to have meaningful and treasured interactions that will be remembered long after their personal trinkets gone away. Thanks for the great posts and since your Birth month falls on the same month as the celebration of St Patrick, I’ll leave for you this blessing (in it’s entirety)

    May the road rise to meet you,
    May the wind be always at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    The rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

    May God be with you and bless you:
    May you see your children’s children.
    May you be poor in misfortune,
    Rich in blessings.
    May you know nothing but happiness
    From this day forward.

    May the road rise up to meet you
    May the wind be always at your back
    May the warm rays of sun fall upon your home
    And may the hand of a friend always be near.

    May green be the grass you walk on,
    May blue be the skies above you,
    May pure be the joys that surround you,
    May true be the hearts that love you. (Anon)

    • Marty dear, finding a kindred soul in you in my quest for minimalism is exhilarating. It’s true, the simple life is abundant because it leaves room for greater love of all kinds. I would fail to enjoy anyone or anything unless I pay them the courtesy of my full attention. The beauty of simple living does open up our senses more and nourish our spirits – laying spaces in our lives that can be filled with grace.
      Thoreau claimed he had only three chairs in his house – “one for solitude, two for friendship, three for society.” Simplicity may not offer complete shelter against adversities, but it will aid us in dealing with material losses and other worldly concerns more sensibly. I am that much of a believer.

      The splendid poem and wisdom you have shared here are both touching and priceless. Thank you so, Martin. I hope all is well with you.

Comments

